My Backpack Project

In the summer, we read this book called Finding Someplace by Denise Lewis Patrick. Finding Someplace is about a girl named Teresa, Reesie for short. Reesie lives in New Orleands when hurricane Katrina hit. She was staying with her neighbor, Mrs. Martine, when her house flooded her house and they had to escape threw the roof and they got rescued by a boat. I wont give to much info about it because I don’t wasn’t to cause any spoilers. It’s very interesting and is a good book that I think you should read!

(Taken by me)

When the hurricane hit, Reesie had to evacuate on short notice. She had little time to pack all her belongings in a small back pack. My LA teacher asked us, “What would you pack if you had to leave quickly with only a backpack?” We started drawing things like toothbrush, phones, wallets, and much more.

 

(Taken by me)

this is what I did, I know, I know, I’m not good at drawing. But here was our classes backpacks.

(Taken by me)

this project was really fun. What would you take if you had to evacuate you’re home?

Our teacher also asked us who do you think is the hero of Finding Someplace. We wrote a couple of paragraphs about why do you think their the hero. Here is what I wrote. After we wrote our essays we got them peer edited by people in our class.

 

(Taken by me)

 

One thought on “My Backpack Project

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *